BKV — Ticker Eval done
1. Composite Trajectory Verdict
Given BKV's capital-intensive upstream and midstream operations with significant acquisitions and debt financing, the cash flow statement is most critical for assessing liquidity and funding capacity, though all three statements are important.
Composite Trajectory: Mixed
The earnings trajectory is mixed, with a deep loss in 2024 sandwiched between profitable years in 2023 and 2025, driven by volatile derivative gains/losses and acquisition-related expenses. Cash generation is improving, with operating cash flow more than doubling year-over-year in 2025. The balance sheet trajectory is improving, as cash and equity rose substantially while working capital flipped from a deficit to a surplus, though long-term debt increased sharply due to the 2030 Senior Notes issuance.
2. Red Flags
- Derivative volatility: Net derivative gains swung from a $238.7 million gain in 2023 to a $34.2 million loss in 2024 to a $105.1 million gain in 2025, creating significant earnings unpredictability (10-K FY2025, Consolidated Statements of Operations).
- Large acquisition-driven debt increase: Long-term debt jumped from $165.0 million at year-end 2024 to $486.8 million at year-end 2025 following the $500 million 2030 Senior Notes issuance to fund the Bedrock Acquisition (10-K FY2025, Consolidated Balance Sheets; 10-K FY2025, Note 4 - Debt).
- Recurring contingent consideration payments: The company paid $20.0 million in each of 2024 and 2025 and $65.0 million in 2023 to settle earnout obligations from prior acquisitions (10-K FY2025, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows).
- ERP system write-off: A $5.6 million write-off of capitalized software costs was recorded in 2025 after discontinuing an ERP implementation (10-K FY2025, Note 5 - Natural Gas Properties & Other Property and Equipment).
- Mezzanine equity accretion: Accretion of Class B Units to redemption value began in 2025 ($1.4 million), creating a recurring dividend-like charge to retained earnings (10-K FY2025, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows).
- Section 45Q tax credit decline: Credits fell 16% year-over-year to $11.8 million in 2025 due to lower sequestered CO2 volumes (10-K FY2025, MD&A).
- Working capital payables surge: Accounts payable and accrued liabilities rose 70% to $206.9 million at year-end 2025 from $121.4 million at year-end 2024, outpacing receivables growth (10-K FY2025, Consolidated Balance Sheets).
3. Earnings Assessment (Income Statement)
Earnings Trajectory: Mixed
Overall Assessment: Net income attributable to BKV swung from $116.9 million in 2023 to a $142.9 million loss in 2024, then to a $173.1 million gain in 2025 (10-K FY2025, Consolidated Statements of Operations). Total revenues and other operating income fell 41% from $980.2 million in 2023 to $581.0 million in 2024, then rose 74% to $1,008.8 million in 2025 (10-K FY2025, Consolidated Statements of Operations). Operating expenses per Mcfe increased slightly from $2.54 in 2024 to $2.60 in 2025 after declining from $2.62 in 2023 (10-K FY2025, MD&A). The 2025 results include a $105.1 million derivative gain versus a $34.2 million loss in 2024 and a $238.7 million gain in 2023, while acquisition-related "Other" operating expenses jumped to $54.9 million in 2025 from $19.4 million in 2024 (10-K FY2025, Consolidated Statements of Operations). Basic EPS followed the same pattern: $1.93 in 2023, -$2.00 in 2024, $1.98 in 2025 (10-K FY2025, Consolidated Statements of Operations).
4. Cash Generation Assessment (Statement of Cash Flows)
Cash Trajectory: Improving
Overall Assessment: Net cash provided by operating activities increased 105% year-over-year to $242.7 million in 2025 from $118.5 million in 2024, which itself was slightly below the $123.1 million in 2023 (10-K FY2025, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows). The 2025 increase was driven by higher natural gas volumes and prices, a $45.3 million favorable working capital change, and a $44.1 million reduction in cash interest paid (10-K FY2025, MD&A). Capital expenditures (cash) rose to $300.2 million in 2025 from $100.9 million in 2024 and $187.7 million in 2023, largely due to the Bedrock Acquisition and increased development activity (10-K FY2025, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows). Free cash flow (operating cash flow minus capex) was negative $57.5 million in 2025, positive $17.6 million in 2024, and negative $64.6 million in 2023. Financing cash flows swung to a $506.7 million inflow in 2025 from a $304.8 million outflow in 2024, funded by the 2030 Senior Notes ($500 million), the December 2025 equity offering ($170.6 million), and RBL Credit Agreement draws (10-K FY2025, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows).
5. Balance Sheet Assessment
Balance Sheet Trajectory: Improving
Overall Assessment: Total assets grew 40% to $3.13 billion at year-end 2025 from $2.23 billion at year-end 2024 (10-K FY2025, Consolidated Balance Sheets). Cash and cash equivalents surged to $199.4 million from $14.9 million, and the working capital position flipped from a $71.6 million deficit to a $170.0 million surplus (10-K FY2025, MD&A; 10-K FY2025, Consolidated Balance Sheets). Total equity increased 31% to $2.05 billion from $1.56 billion, bolstered by the equity offering and retained earnings (10-K FY2025, Consolidated Balance Sheets). Long-term debt tripled to $486.8 million from $165.0 million due to the 2030 Senior Notes, but the net leverage ratio remained within the RBL Credit Agreement covenant of 3.25x (10-K FY2025, Note 4 - Debt). Commodity derivative assets appeared at $88.2 million (current and noncurrent) at year-end 2025 versus zero a year earlier, while derivative liabilities fell to $5.8 million from $67.6 million (10-K FY2025, Note 6 - Fair Value Measurements). Deferred tax liabilities rose to $123.4 million from $88.7 million (10-K FY2025, Consolidated Balance Sheets).
6. Data Gaps
- Quarterly financial statements for 2026 (Q1 and Q2) and 2025 (Q2 and Q3) were listed as provided but not included in the filing text, preventing quarterly trend analysis.
- Full 2023 balance sheet (total assets, liabilities, equity) is not presented in the provided 10-K excerpt, limiting balance sheet trend comparison to two years.
- Proved reserve quantities and standardized measure of future cash flows are referenced but not disclosed in the provided text.
- Detailed breakdown of 2026 capital expenditure budget by segment (upstream, midstream, power, CCUS) is only given as a wide range ($410–$560 million) without further segmentation.
- Terms and compliance calculations for the RBL Credit Agreement financial covenants (Current Ratio, Net Leverage Ratio) as of each quarter-end in 2025 are not disclosed.
- Future commodity derivative positions beyond fair value at year-end (volumes, weighted average prices, tenor) are not detailed in the provided notes.