CBZ — Ticker Eval done
1. Composite Trajectory Verdict
Given CBZ's professional-services business model — revenue-driven with significant seasonal working-capital swings, acquisitive growth, and high leverage — the income statement, cash flow statement, and balance sheet carry roughly equal weight; earnings show the margin trajectory, cash flow shows debt-service capacity, and the balance sheet shows leverage and goodwill risk.
Composite Trajectory: Mixed
The annual 2025 results show strong improvement versus 2024: revenue rose 52.1% to $2,758.0M, net income jumped 181.3% to $115.4M, operating income more than tripled to $234.0M, and operating cash flow increased 55.6% to $192.5M (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Operations; Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows). However, the latest quarterly and year-to-date periods reveal deterioration: Q2 2026 revenue was flat (-0.2% to $682.2M), adjusted gross margin fell from 14.6% to 13.1%, adjusted operating margin fell from 10.7% to 7.8%, and net income dropped 56% to $18.6M (10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A Revenue and Operating Expenses tables; Consolidated Statements of Operations). Cash generation improved markedly in the first half of 2026 (operating cash flow $122.2M vs $24.9M), while leverage remains elevated with total debt ~$1.47B and interest coverage near 2.2x (10-Q 2026-06-30, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows; MD&A Capital Resources). The opposing directions — annual improvement driven by the Marcum acquisition versus recent organic margin compression — produce a mixed composite trajectory.
2. Red Flags
- Margin compression in recent quarters: Adjusted gross margin fell from 14.6% (Q2 2025) to 13.1% (Q2 2026) and from 21.4% (YTD 2025) to 20.4% (YTD 2026); adjusted operating margin fell from 10.7% to 7.8% (Q2) and from 17.8% to 15.3% (YTD) (10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A Non-qualified Deferred Compensation Plan tables).
- Operating expense ratio rising: Total operating expenses as % of revenue increased from 87.1% to 89.4% (Q2) and from 79.2% to 80.5% (YTD) (10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A Operating Expenses tables).
- Recurring integration costs: $64.3M in FY 2025, $38.7M in H1 2026, and $20.1M in H1 2025 labeled as Transaction/Marcum integration costs (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Operating Expenses; 10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A Operating Expenses).
- Legal settlement swing: $7.2M loss in Q2 2026 versus $12.5M gain in Q2 2025, contributing to a $17.7M decline in other income ex-deferred-comp (10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A Other Income, Net).
- Goodwill impairment risk flagged: Filing states “further declines in our market capitalization may trigger the need for future impairment tests where the conclusions may differ and could result in the recognition of an impairment charge” (10-K 2025-12-31, Critical Accounting Estimates).
- DSO increasing: Trailing-twelve-month DSO rose to 89 days at June 30, 2026 from 71 days at Dec 31, 2025 and 87 days at June 30, 2025 (10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A Liquidity).
- High interest burden: Interest expense consumed 45.8% of operating income in FY 2025 ($107.2M / $234.0M) and 22.1% in H1 2026 ($48.3M / $218.6M) (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Operations; 10-Q 2026-06-30, Consolidated Statements of Operations).
- Share repurchases while leveraged: $160.1M of buybacks in FY 2025 and $67.5M in H1 2026 despite net leverage target of 2.0x–2.5x and debt at ~$1.47B (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Liquidity; 10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A Capital Resources).
- Proposed merger at $55/share: Subsequent event announced July 28, 2026, which if completed would change control and capital structure (10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A Proposed Merger).
3. Earnings Assessment (Income Statement)
Earnings Trajectory: Mixed
Overall Assessment: FY 2025 showed dramatic improvement versus FY 2024 — revenue grew 52.1% to $2,758.0M, net income rose 181.3% to $115.4M, and operating income increased 217% to $234.0M — but this was overwhelmingly driven by the Marcum acquisition (“the Transaction”), which contributed $914.2M of incremental revenue (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Executive Summary and Results of Operations). In contrast, the most recent comparable periods show organic weakness: Q2 2026 same-unit revenue declined 0.5%, adjusted gross margin fell 150 bps to 13.1%, adjusted operating margin fell 290 bps to 7.8%, and net income dropped 56% to $18.6M (10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A Overview and Non-qualified Deferred Compensation Plan tables). Year-to-date 2026 same-unit revenue grew only 0.3%, with adjusted operating margin down 250 bps to 15.3% (10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A Overview and Operating Practice Groups). The divergence between acquisition-fueled annual growth and stagnant, margin-compressing recent quarters results in a mixed earnings trajectory.
4. Cash Generation Assessment (Statement of Cash Flows)
Cash Trajectory: Improving
Overall Assessment: Operating cash flow has strengthened consistently. FY 2025 operating cash flow rose 55.6% to $192.5M from $123.7M in FY 2024, driven by higher net income and non-cash charges (depreciation & amortization $98.3M vs $48.1M) (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows). In the first half of 2026, operating cash flow surged to $122.2M from $24.9M in H1 2025, primarily because working capital used $136.9M versus $225.1M a year earlier (10-Q 2026-06-30, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows). Investing cash outflows normalized after the FY 2024 acquisition spike (-$15.9M in FY 2025, -$21.5M in H1 2026 vs -$1,129.3M in FY 2024) (10-K 2025-12-31; 10-Q 2026-06-30, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows). Financing flows shifted from large debt-funded inflows in FY 2024 ($1,035.6M) to debt repayment and share repurchases (-$145.7M in FY 2025, -$158.3M in H1 2026) (10-K 2025-12-31; 10-Q 2026-06-30, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows). The clear upward trend in operating cash generation across both annual and interim periods supports an improving cash trajectory.
5. Balance Sheet Assessment
Balance Sheet Trajectory: Stable
Overall Assessment: The balance sheet shows stability with modest shifts. Total assets were nearly flat year-over-year ($4,409.5M at Dec 31, 2025 vs $4,470.9M at Dec 31, 2024) and rose 3.7% to $4,573.7M at June 30, 2026 (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Balance Sheets; 10-Q 2026-06-30, Consolidated Balance Sheets). Goodwill and intangibles declined slightly to $2,869.8M at Dec 31, 2025 from $2,945.5M a year earlier, and to $2,847.0M at June 30, 2026 (10-K 2025-12-31; 10-Q 2026-06-30, Consolidated Balance Sheets). Total debt remained essentially unchanged: $1,472.4M at Dec 31, 2025 vs $1,420.9M at Dec 31, 2024, and $1,473.5M at June 30, 2026 (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Capital Resources; 10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A Capital Resources). Stockholders’ equity dipped to $1,762.1M at Dec 31, 2025 from $1,780.0M, then rebounded to $1,867.7M at June 30, 2026 on retained earnings (10-K 2025-12-31; 10-Q 2026-06-30, Consolidated Balance Sheets). The company remained in compliance with debt covenants at both period ends (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Capital Resources; 10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A Capital Resources). Leverage and equity levels have been stable, with no material deterioration or improvement.
6. Data Gaps
- Quarterly income-statement, cash-flow, and balance-sheet data for Q1 2025, Q3 2025, Q4 2025, Q3 2024, and Q4 2024 (only FY 2024/2025 annual and Q2 2025/2026 interim periods are directly provided).
- Stand-alone Q1 2026 revenue (not separately reported in the 10-Q 2026-06-30 XBRL; only YTD and Q2 figures are shown).
- Free cash flow (operating cash flow minus capital expenditures) not explicitly reported for any period.
- Net leverage ratio (net debt/EBITDA) not disclosed; only a target range of 2.0x–2.5x is stated.
- Segment-level operating results for the combined Financial Services group (including former National Practices) for periods prior to the Q1 2026 reorganization.
- Detailed breakdown of contingent consideration payments and fair-value adjustments beyond the amounts mentioned in MD&A.