MRNA — Ticker Eval done
1. Composite Trajectory Verdict
All three financial statements carry roughly equal weight for MRNA: the income statement shows whether the commercial portfolio and pipeline spending are moving toward sustainability, the cash flow statement reveals the actual liquidity burn rate given heavy working-capital and investment swings, and the balance sheet tracks the erosion or preservation of the capital cushion that funds ongoing R&D and manufacturing build-out.
Composite Trajectory: Mixed
The annual income statement shows a clear improving trend — net loss narrowed from $(4,714) million in 2023 to $(3,561) million in 2024 to $(2,822) million in 2025, and loss per share improved from $(12.33) to $(9.28) to $(7.26) (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Operations). Operating expenses fell 30% year-over-year in 2025 to $5,018 million (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A). Annual operating cash burn also improved, with net cash used in operating activities decreasing from $(3,118) million in 2023 to $(3,004) million in 2024 to $(1,873) million in 2025 (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows). However, the balance sheet is deteriorating: total financial assets (cash, equivalents, and investments) fell 15% year-over-year to $8,135 million at December 31, 2025 (10-K 2025-12-31, Balance Sheet), stockholders' equity dropped 21% to $8,650 million, retained earnings fell 28% to $7,223 million, and long-term debt of $590 million appeared for the first time (10-K 2025-12-31, Balance Sheet). The first half of 2026 intensifies the split: six-month revenue rose 114% to $534 million on international COVID deliveries (10-Q 2026-06-30, Condensed Statements of Operations), but six-month net loss widened 18% to $(2,125) million, driven by a $884 million litigation settlement in cost of sales (10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A). Six-month operating cash burn improved to $(1,156) million from $(1,956) million (10-Q 2026-06-30, Cash Flow), yet the balance sheet weakened further in six months — financial assets fell another 15% to $6,910 million, equity dropped 22% to $6,761 million, and a $950 million litigation accrual pushed current liabilities up 28% (10-Q 2026-06-30, Balance Sheet; MD&A).
2. Red Flags
- Revenue collapse with no replacement product scale: Annual net product sales fell 72% from $6,671 million (2023) to $1,818 million (2025) (10-K 2025-12-31, Note 3), and COVID vaccines still comprise 99.6% of 2025 net product sales ($1,810 million of $1,818 million) (10-K 2025-12-31, Note 3).
- Litigation settlement creating large non-recurring charge: $884 million recorded in cost of sales in H1 2026 for Arbutus/Genevant settlement, with additional amortization expected (10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A; Condensed Statements of Operations).
- Accelerating balance sheet erosion: Financial assets declined $1.4 billion (15%) in FY 2025 and a further $1.2 billion (15%) in H1 2026, while total liabilities rose 14% in FY 2025 and another 14% in H1 2026 (10-K 2025-12-31, Balance Sheet; 10-Q 2026-06-30, Balance Sheet).
- Retained earnings declining rapidly: Fell from $10,045 million (2024) to $7,223 million (2025) to $5,098 million (June 30, 2026) — a 49% drop in 18 months (10-K 2025-12-31, Statement of Stockholders' Equity; 10-Q 2026-06-30, Balance Sheet).
- Working capital contraction: Decreased 23% in FY 2025 to $4,557 million and a further 28% in H1 2026 to $3,281 million (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A; 10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A).
- New debt layer with financial covenant: $600 million term loan drawn November 2025 at ~9.38% variable rate, with minimum cash covenant of $500 million (rising to $750 million if >$1 billion drawn) (10-K 2025-12-31, Note 11; 10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A).
- Inventory write-downs persistent: $291 million in 2025, $495 million in 2024, $2.2 billion in 2023, plus $79 million in H1 2026 (10-K 2025-12-31, Note 7; 10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A).
- Deferred revenue growing but not yet recognized: $252 million at December 31, 2025 and $442 million at June 30, 2026 related to customer advance payments (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A; 10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A).
3. Earnings Assessment (Income Statement)
Earnings Trajectory: Mixed
Annual GAAP results show consistent improvement in bottom-line losses: net loss narrowed 21% year-over-year to $(2,822) million in 2025 from $(3,561) million in 2024, following a 24% improvement in 2024 from $(4,714) million in 2023 (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Operations). Loss per share improved to $(7.26) from $(9.28) and $(12.33) over the same periods (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Operations). Total operating expenses fell 30% to $5,018 million in 2025, driven by a 31% drop in R&D to $3,132 million, a 13% drop in SG&A to $1,018 million, and a 41% drop in cost of sales to $868 million (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Operations). However, revenue collapsed 40% to $1,944 million in 2025, with net product sales down 42% to $1,818 million (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Operations). The six-month 2026 picture diverges: revenue rose 114% to $534 million on international COVID deliveries, but net loss widened 18% to $(2,125) million because cost of sales surged 401% to $1,048 million, primarily from the $884 million litigation settlement (10-Q 2026-06-30, Condensed Statements of Operations; MD&A). Excluding the settlement, H1 2026 cost of sales would have decreased 59% year-over-year (10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A). R&D and SG&A continued to decline in H1 2026 (-16% and -12% respectively) (10-Q 2026-06-30, Condensed Statements of Operations).
4. Cash Generation Assessment (Statement of Cash Flows)
Cash Trajectory: Improving
Annual operating cash burn has decreased sequentially for three years: net cash used in operating activities improved from $(3,118) million in 2023 to $(3,004) million in 2024 to $(1,873) million in 2025 — a 38% year-over-year improvement in 2025 (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows). The improvement in 2025 was driven by a $739 million smaller net loss, a $480 million favorable change in deferred revenue, and a $360 million favorable change in accounts payable and accrued liabilities (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A). Investing activities provided $1,946 million in 2025, roughly flat versus $1,949 million in 2024, as maturities and sales of marketable securities funded operations (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows). Financing activities provided $593 million in 2025, almost entirely from the $578 million net proceeds of the new credit facility (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows). In H1 2026, operating cash burn improved 41% to $(1,156) million from $(1,956) million in H1 2025, helped by a $945 million favorable swing in accrued liabilities and accounts payable (largely the $950 million litigation accrual) (10-Q 2026-06-30, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows; MD&A). Investing cash inflows dropped 80% to $253 million as securities maturities/sales slowed, and financing provided only $31 million (10-Q 2026-06-30, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows).
5. Balance Sheet Assessment
Balance Sheet Trajectory: Deteriorating
The balance sheet has weakened materially over the last 18 months. Total financial assets (cash, equivalents, and investments) fell from $9,519 million at December 31, 2024 to $8,135 million at December 31, 2025 (-15%) and to $6,910 million at June 30, 2026 (-15% in six months) (10-K 2025-12-31, Balance Sheet; 10-Q 2026-06-30, Balance Sheet). Stockholders' equity declined from $10,901 million to $8,650 million (-21%) to $6,761 million (-22% in six months) (10-K 2025-12-31, Balance Sheet; 10-Q 2026-06-30, Balance Sheet). Retained earnings dropped from $10,045 million to $7,223 million to $5,098 million over the same intervals (10-K 2025-12-31, Statement of Stockholders' Equity; 10-Q 2026-06-30, Balance Sheet). Total liabilities rose from $3,241 million to $3,688 million (+14%) to $4,200 million (+14% in six months), with the June 2026 increase driven by a $950 million litigation settlement accrual in accrued liabilities (10-K 2025-12-31, Balance Sheet; 10-Q 2026-06-30, Balance Sheet; MD&A). Long-term debt of $590 million appeared at December 31, 2025 (first time) and stood at $591 million at June 30, 2026 (10-K 2025-12-31, Balance Sheet; 10-Q 2026-06-30, Balance Sheet). Working capital contracted from $5,893 million to $4,557 million (-23%) to $3,281 million (-28% in six months) (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A; 10-Q 2026-06-30, MD&A). The credit facility's financial covenant requires minimum cash and equivalents of $500 million (rising to $750 million if >$1 billion drawn), which remains comfortably met but leaves limited buffer given the burn rate (10-K 2025-12-31, Note 11).
6. Data Gaps
- Standalone Q3 and Q4 2025 quarterly results: Only annual 2025 and H1 2026 are provided; quarterly seasonality and sequential trends within 2025 cannot be assessed.
- Q2 2026 and Q2 2025 loss per share: The 10-Q provides Q2 2026 loss per share of $(1.97) vs $(2.13) but does not disclose weighted-average share counts for those quarters to verify the calculation.
- Breakdown of H1 2026 cost of sales excluding litigation settlement: The filing states the exclusion effect but does not provide the adjusted cost of sales figure.
- Deferred revenue composition and timing: Total deferred revenue is disclosed ($252M at Dec 2025, $442M at Jun 2026) but the split between product sales and other revenue, and the expected recognition schedule beyond "less than one year," is not fully detailed.
- Capital expenditure forecast for H2 2026 and 2027: Only H1 2026 CapEx ($99M) and FY 2025 CapEx ($192M) are reported; the Norwood expansion targeting H1 2027 completion lacks disclosed remaining spend.
- Blackstone funding arrangement remaining capacity: The 10-K notes $43M liability at Dec 2025 vs $58M at Dec 2024 but does not state the undrawn commitment balance of the $750M facility.
- Detailed maturity profile of the $900M delayed draw term loans: Availability windows (through Nov 2027 and Nov 2028) and regulatory milestones for DDTL-2 are described but not quantified in terms of expected draw timing or amounts.