TRIN — Ticker Eval done
1. Composite Trajectory Verdict
For a BDC like TRIN, the income statement (net investment income), balance sheet (portfolio fair value, asset coverage, non-accruals), and cash flow statement (operating vs. financing cash flows) all carry roughly equal weight because the business model depends on generating income from a growing portfolio while maintaining regulatory leverage limits and liquidity.
Composite Trajectory: Mixed
Total investment income rose 23.5% to $293.7M and net investment income rose 24.4% to $144.1M in FY2025 vs. FY2024 (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Results of Operations). Net increase in net assets from operations grew 17.3% to $135.6M (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Results of Operations). However, net realized losses widened sharply to $(64.3M) from $(9.7M) (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Net Realized Gains and Losses), the asset coverage ratio fell to 183.8% from 192.7% (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Asset Coverage Requirements), and available borrowings under the KeyBank Credit Facility declined to $316.1M from $487.0M (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Financial Condition). Non-accrual debt investments at fair value increased to $15.2M (0.7% of debt portfolio) from $12.7M (0.8%) (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Portfolio Asset Quality). These opposing moves produce a mixed trajectory.
2. Red Flags
- Net realized losses increased 561% YoY to $(64.3M) in FY2025 from $(9.7M) in FY2024, driven by gross realized losses of $72.0M vs. $34.2M (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Net Realized Gains and Losses).
- Asset coverage ratio declined to 183.8% at 12/31/2025 from 192.7% at 12/31/2024, moving closer to the 150% regulatory minimum (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Asset Coverage Requirements).
- Available borrowings under the KeyBank Credit Facility fell 35% to $316.1M at 12/31/2025 from $487.0M at 12/31/2024 (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Financial Condition).
- Cash used in operating activities increased 69% to $535.5M in FY2025 from $316.9M in FY2024, while cash from financing activities increased 69% to $545.8M from $322.2M, indicating reliance on external funding to support portfolio growth (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Financial Condition).
- Effective yield on average investments declined to 15.3% in FY2025 from 16.1% in FY2024 (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Investment Income).
3. Earnings Assessment (Income Statement)
Earnings Trajectory: Improving
Total investment income increased to $293.7M in FY2025 from $237.7M in FY2024, a 23.5% rise (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Investment Income). Net investment income grew to $144.1M from $115.8M, a 24.4% increase (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Net Investment Income). Net increase in net assets resulting from operations rose to $135.6M from $115.6M (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Net Increase in Net Assets). The improvement was driven by higher stated interest income ($223.5M vs. $179.0M) and higher OID/EOT accretion ($32.3M vs. $27.8M), partially offset by lower PIK interest income ($4.9M vs. $9.1M) (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Investment Income). Net realized losses widened significantly, but unrealized appreciation of $55.9M vs. $9.5M more than offset them on a net operations basis.
4. Cash Generation Assessment (Statement of Cash Flows)
Cash Trajectory: Mixed
Net cash provided by financing activities surged to $545.8M in FY2025 from $322.2M in FY2024 (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Financial Condition). Net cash used in operating activities also rose sharply to $535.5M from $316.9M (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Financial Condition). The net increase in cash and cash equivalents was $9.5M in FY2025 vs. $4.9M in FY2024 (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Financial Condition). The company remains dependent on financing inflows to fund operating outflows (primarily new investments), with no meaningful free cash flow generation from operations alone.
5. Balance Sheet Assessment
Balance Sheet Trajectory: Mixed
Total investments at fair value grew 40% to $2,418.1M at 12/31/2025 from $1,725.6M at 12/31/2024 (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Portfolio Composition). Cash and cash equivalents doubled to $19.1M from $9.6M (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Financial Condition). However, asset coverage ratio declined to 183.8% from 192.7% (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Asset Coverage Requirements), and available borrowings under the KeyBank Credit Facility fell to $316.1M from $487.0M (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Financial Condition). Non-accrual debt investments at fair value rose to $15.2M (0.7% of debt portfolio) from $12.7M (0.8%) (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Portfolio Asset Quality). The weighted average risk rating remained stable at 2.9 (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Portfolio Asset Quality). Portfolio growth is accompanied by tightening leverage capacity and slightly higher absolute non-accruals.
6. Data Gaps
- Quarterly (10-Q) income statement, cash flow, and balance sheet figures for Q1–Q3 2025 and Q1–Q2 2026 are not present in the provided text, preventing quarterly trend analysis and YoY quarterly comparisons.
- Detailed breakdown of operating cash flow components (e.g., investment purchases vs. repayments) is not separately disclosed in the MD&A cash flow summary.
- Weighted average yield on new originations vs. repayments is not disclosed, limiting insight into the effective yield decline.
- No GAAP net income (or net increase in net assets) per share for FY2024 is provided in the MD&A (only basic/diluted per-share figures for FY2025 are given as $1.96; FY2024 per-share figures are not in the excerpt).