WBI — Ticker Eval done
1. Composite Trajectory Verdict
For a fee-based, capital-intensive water infrastructure business with high depreciation and debt financing, the cash flow statement matters most because it reflects the ability to fund operations, service debt, and finance expansion without relying on GAAP net income distorted by non-cash charges and one-time financing costs.
Composite Trajectory: Mixed
Operating cash flow has more than doubled year-over-year and operating income grew 40%, indicating core business momentum. However, GAAP net income collapsed to near zero due to a 29% rise in interest expense and an $11.4 million loss on debt extinguishment, while net leverage (net debt to GAAP EBITDA) increased from 4.3x to 6.3x. The balance sheet shows a stronger equity base post-IPO but materially higher absolute debt. These offsetting dynamics — improving cash generation and operating profitability versus deteriorating bottom-line earnings and rising leverage — produce a mixed overall trajectory.
2. Red Flags
- GAAP net income fell from $14.7 million (2023) to $3.0 million (2024) to $9 thousand (2025) despite revenue growing 162% over the same span (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Operations).
- Interest expense, net rose 29% year-over-year to $68.9 million in 2025, consuming 87% of operating income (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Operations).
- A $13.5 million loss on extinguishment of the NDB Term Loan was recorded in 2025, partially offset by a $2.1 million gain on the SDB Term Loan (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Operations).
- Net debt (long-term debt plus current portion less cash) increased from $579.6 million (2024) to $1,392.8 million (2025), while GAAP EBITDA (operating income plus D&A) rose from $134.7 million to $219.8 million, pushing net debt/EBITDA from 4.3x to 6.3x (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Balance Sheets; Consolidated Statements of Operations).
- Noncontrolling interest of $1.25 billion appears on the 2025 balance sheet, reflecting the Up-C structure and legacy owner holdings, which may complicate equity attribution (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Balance Sheets).
- The 2025 Revolving Credit Facility requires a consolidated net leverage ratio ≤5.00x (with a 5.25x step-up for material acquisitions); the GAAP-based ratio of 6.3x exceeds this, though covenant compliance likely uses pro forma Adjusted EBITDA (10-K 2025-12-31, Liquidity and Capital Resources — 2025 Revolving Credit Facility).
3. Earnings Assessment (Income Statement)
Earnings Trajectory: Mixed
Total revenues increased 66% to $525.6 million in 2025 from $316.3 million in 2024, driven by a 62% rise in produced water handling volumes to 1,622 MBbl/d (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Operations; MD&A Operating Metrics). Operating income grew 40% to $78.9 million from $56.4 million, with operating margin stable at ~15% (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Operations). However, net income plummeted to $9 thousand from $3.0 million due to a 29% increase in net interest expense to $68.9 million and an $11.4 million loss on debt extinguishment (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Operations). The pre-tax result swung from a $3.3 million gain to a $1.1 million loss (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Operations). Gross margin per barrel dipped slightly to $0.20 from $0.21, while Adjusted Operating Margin per barrel (non-GAAP) held at $0.39 (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Operating Metrics).
4. Cash Generation Assessment (Statement of Cash Flows)
Cash Trajectory: Improving
Net cash provided by operating activities surged 116% to $159.7 million in 2025 from $73.9 million in 2024, which itself was up 52% from $48.5 million in 2023 (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows). The increase was driven by higher cash earnings from revenue growth and favorable working capital timing (10-K 2025-12-31, MD&A Cash Flows). Net cash used in investing activities decreased to $218.6 million from $323.7 million, reflecting lower acquisition spending and $20.0 million in asset sale proceeds from the crude gathering divestiture (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows; MD&A Cash Flows). Net cash provided by financing activities fell to $97.2 million from $250.2 million, as $1.7 billion in legacy term loan repayments and a $228.2 million OpCo equity purchase offset $1.4 billion in senior notes proceeds and $677.1 million in IPO proceeds (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows; MD&A Cash Flows). Cash and cash equivalents rose to $51.5 million from $13.3 million (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Balance Sheets).
5. Balance Sheet Assessment
Balance Sheet Trajectory: Mixed
Total assets nearly tripled to $3.70 billion from $1.35 billion, primarily from the WaterBridge Combination and associated fair value step-ups in PP&E ($2.29 billion vs $1.10 billion) and intangibles ($936 million vs $99 million) (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Balance Sheets). Long-term debt, net of issuance costs, jumped 144% to $1.43 billion from $586 million following the October 2025 refinancing that replaced term loans with $1.43 billion in fixed-rate senior notes (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Balance Sheets; MD&A Debt Instruments). Total equity (including noncontrolling interest) increased to $1.85 billion from $663 million, boosted by $673.7 million in net IPO proceeds and the contribution of WBEF and Desert Environmental equity (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Statements of Shareholders' and Member's Equity). Working capital surplus widened to $72.2 million from $36.9 million (10-K 2025-12-31, Consolidated Balance Sheets). The net debt/EBITDA ratio (GAAP) rose from 4.3x to 6.3x, though the covenant metric uses Adjusted EBITDA and pro forma adjustments (10-K 2025-12-31, Liquidity and Capital Resources — 2025 Revolving Credit Facility).
6. Data Gaps
- Quarterly year-over-year comparisons for the combined entity (WaterBridge Infrastructure LLC) are unavailable because the 10-Qs for Q3 2025, Q1 2026, and Q2 2026 lack prior-year quarter counterparts for the same registrant.
- Standalone quarterly GAAP results for the post-combination entity (Q4 2025, Q1 2026, Q2 2026) cannot be derived from the provided filings without the Q3 2025 10-Q for the combined entity, which is not included.
- Covenant compliance metrics (consolidated net leverage ratio, interest coverage ratio) as defined in the 2025 Revolving Credit Facility are not disclosed in GAAP terms; only pro forma Adjusted EBITDA is provided (10-K 2025-12-31, Liquidity and Capital Resources).
- Full-year 2026 GAAP results are not yet available; only six months of 2026 quarterly data exist.
- Segment-level profitability (produced water handling vs water solutions vs other) on a GAAP basis is not separately disclosed in the consolidated statements of operations.